Japan in pictures
The kansai region
The kanto region
The chugoku region
The chubu region
The tohoku region
Kyushu island

Life in Japan
The matsuri
The seasons
The food
Culture & Traditions

The site   
Forum, Links
About, Sitemap

Nihon Wa forums Deviantart gallery Sekai Wa, website about my trip around the world

Chūbu region is the central region of Honshū island. Chūbu means middle (chū, 中) region (bu, 部). The region consists of 9 prefectures: Aichi, Fukui, Gifu, Ishikawa, Nagano, Niigata, Shizuoka, Toyama and Yamanashi.
It is the widest part of Honshū. The central part characterized by high, rugged mountains, is crossed by the Japanese Alps.
Chūbu region is usually divided in 3 parts:
- Hokuriku region lies on the Sea of Japan coastline and includes Toyama, Ishikawa and Fukui prefectures.
- Kōshinetsu region encompasses the mountainous part including Nagano, Niigata, and Yamanashi prefectures.
- Tōkai region lies on the Pacific ocean coastline including Aichi, Shizuoka and Gifu prefectures.

Amoung the main attractions of this region, it is worth noting:
- The mount Fuji, the most capricious mountain I ever (try) to see....
- Japanese Alps where I never been yet, but where I dream to go to at least to see macaques swimming into hot springs.
- Kanazawa city and Kenrokuen garden which is considered one of the 3 most beautiful japanese gardens.


2 connected visitors Nihon Wa by Lou © - 2005~2024 -
  visitors since the 20/06/2005