Japan in pictures
The kansai region
The kanto region
The chugoku region
The chubu region
The tohoku region
Kyushu island

Life in Japan
The matsuri
The seasons
The food
Culture & Traditions

The site   
Forum, Links
About, Sitemap

Nihon Wa forums Deviantart gallery Sekai Wa, website about my trip around the world

Kyūshū is one of the 4 main islands of Japan, located on the south-west of Honshū island. Kyūshū means nine (kyū, 九) provinces (shū, 州) referring to the nine ancient provinces of Saikaidō, situated on the island (Chikuzen, Chikugo, Hizen, Higo, Buzen, Bungo, Hyūga, Osumi, et Satsuma).

Kyūshū consists of 7 prefectures on the island: Fukuoka, Saga, Kumamoto, Nagasaki, Ōita, Kagoshima, Miyazaki and also Okinawa prefecture.

The most active volcano of Japan, the mount Aso is located on this island. There are many other signs of tectonic activity. Aside from Mt Aso, the steaming city of Beppu with its hots springs, its hells and its mud baths, is one of my favorite destination.

3 connected visitors Nihon Wa by Lou © - 2005~2024 -
  visitors since the 20/06/2005